Boston Beats Montreal 5-2 For Their First Clarkson Cup Title

March 23, 2013.

The Boston Blades beat the Montreal Stars, the defending champions 5-2 on Saturday afternoon to win their first Clarkson Cup title in the five-year history of the tournament. About 1,300 fans filled the stands at Centennial Community Centre in Markham for the championship game.

Besides Montreal and now Boston, the only other team to win a Clarkson Cup since it has been awarded was Minnesota, who blanked Brampton 4-0 in the final in 2008.

In Saturday’s championship game Boston’s Jen Schoullis opened the scoring mid-way through the first period. Schoullis added another, 2-0 for Boston early in the second. Montreal’s Meghan Agosta-Marciano narrowed the gap to 2-1 just over 30 seconds later and Dominique Thibault tied it up at 8:09 in the middle frame.

However, Kelley Steadman popped in a three goals for Boston; one mid-way in the second, another at 17:06 in the third and an empty-netter in the last minute of the game to seal the 4-2 victory and win the 2013 Clarkson Cup.

The Clarkson Cup itself was awarded to the Boston Blades by Madame Adrienne Clarkson, former Governor General and CWHL commissioner Brenda Andress. Earlier in the week, Boston edged Toronto 3-2 and Montreal blanked Brampton 5-0 on Wednesday, Boston shut out Brampton 2-0 and Montreal shut out Toronto 2-0 on Thursday, while both games went into overtime to end preliminary action Friday. Montreal beat Boston 1-0 and Toronto edged Brampton 4-3. Listed below are the 2013 CWHL Award winners for the league:

Angela James Bowl – Meghan Agosta-Marciano (Montreal Stars forward with 46 points for season scoring title)

Coach of the Year – Digit Murphy (Boston Blades head coach)

Rookie of the Year – Ann-Sophie Bettez (Montreal Stars forward and McGill University alumna)

Goaltender of the Year РGenevi̬ve Lacasse (Boston Blades netminder with a 1.26 goals against average in 14 games played)

Defenceman of the Year – Catherine Ward (Montreal Stars defenceman with 13 points in 21 games played)

Most Valuable Player – Hilary Knight (Boston Blades forward with 32 points in 24 games played)

CWHL regular season champion – The Boston Blades (39 points in the 2012-13 season)

Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Award – Sami Jo Small (Toronto Furies goaltender and Canadian Women’s Hockey League co-founder)

Humanitarian Award – Samantha Holmes-Domagala (Canadian Women’s Hockey League operations assistant)