Canada Chooses its 2010 Olympic Roster

Hockey Canada announced the 21 players who have been nominated to represent Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C. Hayley Wickenheiser was named Captain of Team Canada.  Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont.) and Caroline Ouellette (Montreal, Que.) will serve as alternate captains.

The 21-player roster includes three goaltenders, six defencemen and 12 forwards. Fourteen players (Agosta, Apps, Botterill, Hefford, Kellar, Kingsbury, Labonté, MacLeod, Ouellette, Piper, St-Pierre, Sostorics, Vaillancourt and Wickenheiser) have played in previous Olympic Winter Games. Four players (Botterill, Hefford, Kellar and Wickenheiser) will compete in their fourth Olympic Winter Games. The 21 players on Canada’s roster have combined to play in 94 IIHF World Women’s Championships.

Canada’s National Women’s Team will attempt to win its third-straight gold medal at the Winter Olympics, since 2002 (Salt Lake City, Utah) and 2006 (Turin, Italy).

“Our country is fortunate to have unbelievable depth in hockey and this is no different in the women’s game. The selection process has been difficult, which speaks to this depth, ” said Melody Davidson, head coach of Canada’s National Women’s Team.

Hockey Canada also announced on Monday that Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, Sask.) has been named captain of Canada’s

The 2010 Olympic Winter Games will mark the fourth time women’s hockey has been part of the Olympic program. The women’s hockey tournament opens on February 13, 2010, with Canada facing Slovakia at Canada Hockey Place. The UBC Thunderbird Arena will be home to Canada’s remaining two round-robin games, with the medal round being held at Canada Hockey Place. The gold medal game will be on February 25, 2010.

Canada’s National Women’s Team will have a holiday break from December 22-27 before travelling to St. Paul, Minn., for a game against the United States on December 30 (Xcel Energy Center, 7 p.m. CT). Canada and the United States will complete a six-game pre-Olympic series on January 1, 2010 in Ottawa (SBP Arena, 7 p.m. ET).

December 21, 2009