US Final Roster Chosen Dec 17 2009

2010 U.S. Olympic Women's Hockey Team Unveiled

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. Among the 21 players named to the 2010 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team today, six are Olympic veterans, including Jenny Potter (Edina, Minn.) and Angela Ruggiero (Simi Valley, Calif. Both will be playing in their fourth Games in Vancouver.
The U.S. team, which includes three goaltenders, six defensemen and 12 forwards, will continue competing in the Qwest Tour, departing for the Olympics on Feb. 7. Team USA's first game is Feb. 14th against China.
"It's an exciting day for a lot of reasons," said Mark Johnson, head coach for Team USA. "It was an extremely tough decision, but now we can move forward and continue preparing ourselves. We feel good about the process, which gave everyone an opportunity. We're excited by the youthfulness of our team, as well as comfortable with the veterans and the leadership they will provide."
The four additional players with Olympic experience are two-time Olympians Julie Chu (Fairfield, Conn.) and Natalie Darwitz (Eagan, Minn.), as well as 2006 Olympians Caitlin Cahow (Branford, Conn.) and Molly Engstrom (Siren, Wis.). Of the 21 players, all but one have competed in an International Ice Hockey Federation World Women's Championship, including 19 who won gold at 2009 World Championship to propel the United States to the No. 1 ranking in the world.
Hilary Knight (Hanover, N.H.) is the youngest U.S. player at 20 years old and currently leads the National Team with 21 points (9-12) in 16 games, is nine days younger than Jocelyne and Monique Lamoureux (Grand Forks, N.D.), who will become the first set of twins ever to play hockey in the Olympics.
December 17, 2009